Banana Leaf Trinoma: not good enough to satisfy my Asian Food craving

Image

I was born in Malaysia and one of the thing that I missed is the food. Mee-goreng, roti and murtabak are very common food in there. You can buy it anytime of the day just like tapsi eatery here in the Philippines.

Murtabak
Murtabak

Last Feb 18, I was really craving for  roti and mee goreng. My mother just came back from Malaysia and didn’t even brought a single kechup manis. She brought a MAGGIE curry flavor though when she came to Manila to visit Mei-mei ( her sister).

Roti Canai Supreme with Kaya
Roti Canai Supreme with Kaya

Since Pat hasn’t tried Banana leaf yet and .I believe the last time that I was in Banana leaf was around 2 years ago and I can’t recall the experience anymore, we decided to dine at their Trinoma branch.

Mee-goreng
Mee-goreng

We ordered, BBQ whole roasted  baby back ribs P 388. ( out of theme but I was craving for RIBS), Penang Char Kway Teow (P188), Mee-goreng (P188),Roti canai supreme with kaya (P98),Murtabak (P128), Roti (P88), curry sauce P30.

Char Kway  Teow
Char Kway Teow

To start with, I’m not really saying that the food doesn’t taste good. If you already tasted authentic Malaysian or Singaporean dishes., the food that they serve just can’t come close the to taste that I was craving.

The Ribs and the Murtabak was a really turn off. We ended ordering roti and curry because of the disappointment. The roti passed our taste buds because of their curry but you could get tastier and softer version on a cheaper price tag in a different restaurant.

Image

Pat is trying to rationalize that perhaps, dishes are already made to suit the Filipino taste buds but regardless it was a disappointment for me. So, if you’re trying to taste Filipino cooking with an asian twist then the resto could be an option for you  because the prices are quite affordable. If you’re looking for a near to real asian food taste, please stay away from banana leaf cause you’ll end up disappointed! 😛

My low rate here is a little biased because I was really craving for a good roti and mee goreng!:-D

RATE: 6/10

visit date: Feb 18, 2014

Leave a comment